Faithfulness Springs Forth

I read a scripture today in Psalms that kind of took my breath away. It seemed totally unreal to me. I’m not sure if this scripture was meant to be a prophecy, but, if the world today – and back then – is any indication, I’d say this verse was talking about a time FAR, FAR in the future.

blog verse 1

 

I think it goes without saying which part had me taken aback here. Adam was the very first man to meet God, and talk with him up close and personal, and even he was not able to be loyal to God. So how? How on earth did the writer of this verse come to this conclusion? Perhaps he was experiencing some euphoric moment and had a vision of some beautiful union between God and man. Perhaps God himself inspired him to write this verse as a message to all of us, that this is the way it is supposed to be…that this is the way it someday will be.

This is not to say that there aren’t any people on earth that are loyal to God, because there are, and those people could all attest to the fact that God’s goodness is shining down from heaven, but when I read this verse I didn’t read it as some people or some of God’s goodness. When I read this I immediately pictured ALL of the people on the earth and ALL of God’s goodness shining down. It’s an unimaginable thought almost, to think of something so amazing, but it’s possible and it’s coming, isn’t it? A day, a time…an eternity when we are loyal to God and his glory shines down on us all.

Take a look at the same verse in the NIV translation:

Faithfulness springs forth from the earth, and righteousness looks down from heaven. 

…what a beautiful picture

Leave a comment