Dear God,

Change is inevitable. I’m going to experience change. My family will grow and change as my children get older and my marriage will evolve as we move further into life together as a whole. Things are going to change, and there is nothing I can do about it…sometimes.

My problem is that I desperately want to avoid change. My brain automatically recognizes change as a flaw in the system and sends out an alert to the rest of my body, throwing me into complete panic. *CAUTION! CHANGE APPROACHING* surrounded by glaring red lights. That’s how it is for me, figuratively speaking of course. Before I know it, my blood pressure has shot up, my heart is racing at the speed of light, and I’ve already lived through 17 different scenarios, in my mind, where everything goes terribly wrong. Nervous breakdown. Failure to compute. Emergency exit to your left (I wish!).

 

This is where God steps in. Okay, so God is there the entire time, undoubtedly shaking his head, waiting patiently for me to get off of the floor and stop having a childish tantrum. If God were even slightly human, I’m sure he’d say something like, “Here she goes again,” and then roll his eyes. Thank heaven that he isn’t. In fact, he is all spirit, all the time and that spirit lives in me.

Don’t you know that you are God’s temple and that God’s spirit lives in you?

1 Cor. 3:16 NCV

It takes some time -could be one day, could be ten- but finally I awaken from my “drunken stupor” and remember I have a God who loves me. So, whether it’s the military once again pulling me and my family away from every single thing we’ve grown to know and enjoy, or it’s me trying to force my way back into being a working mom, or even dealing with the fact that my sweet little boys are becoming a lot more self-sufficient, God has my back…and my front, and my everything. I am immensely thankful for an omnipresent God who “does not change like shifting shadows.” That’s pretty awesome, because he knows how much I hate change.

Leave a Reply

