Welcome to GLF!

Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure… (Hebrews 13:4 NIV)

That’s my founding scripture for this blog. I know, it seems kind of heavy to open up my first blog post with a scripture, and I don’t plan on making a habit of it, but I felt like it was important to let my readers know that this blog was built on a foundation: God’s word. I named this site God, Love & Family because I truly believe that without God our love and family are not going to be on the right path…the path He set for us.

marriage scripture

Image from http://www.pixelstalk.net- edited by me

God showed me that scripture a while ago, actually after I had decided to start this blog, and it became increasingly important for me to create a space where people can look for answers and guidance for their love and family lives. I think the best part of this blog is the fact that I’m not doing it alone. I’ve decided to include my husband in the process. Most men would probably agree that, when it comes to marital advice or counseling, most of it is geared toward what the women want. Women are more communicative of how we are feeling, and we can also be quite demanding to get what we want. We know how to make it sound like we are doing everything right and our spouse is just simply on the wrong path and in need of dire help. In many cases, this is NOT true. The real truth is simply that we are selfish, we want our way, and our husbands have decided not to give it to us. For those husband that do give in to their wives every need, they could probably attest to the fact that, “happy wife, happy life,” is no more than foolish saying. It isn’t true. It never has been.

ID-100366254

Photo by tuelekza. Published on 03 October 2015
Stock photo – Image ID: 100366254

By including the voice of both a husband and wife, I hope to even the playing field by offering an unbiased, non-sexist, perspective. I really want to draw in male readers, as well as female. And it’s not just us, no, I plan to include the input of many of my readers on this blog. In fact, before I ever opened a page, the first thing I did for this blog was to message a few married people- women and men- and get their input. I asked them what they thought were common struggles in their own marriages. I didn’t want specific details, because our lives are all different, just the main issues that they dealt with in their own relationships. Not surprisingly, a lot more women than men were willing to divulge such sensitive information to me. Even when I asked my own husband, he was brief and to the point. He kind of gave me a very troubling, hesitant vibe when I asked the question, as if I were trying to trick him into answering a question that might turn an anthill into a mountain. I suppose I’ve created that apprehension in him, and I’m sure we’ll talk about that in a later post.

So, here is your homework (Whaaaat?!). Don’t worry, it’s easy. I want you to comment. I want to know what are the common issues you struggle with in your marriage. I don’t want you to be specific about what your spouse does or does not do, and I certainly do not need examples or names. Just the main issues. I want to know what you deal with so that I can address it on this blog. After all, this entire blog is here just-for-you.

…my heart to yours

R.L.

3 responses to “Welcome to GLF!

  1. I’m not married, but me and my boyfriend are looking to get married in the near future. I think we struggle with trust issues, finances, sometimes the way we raise our daughter and the fact that we are so different. I do believe including God in our relationship more would help but we just have to take the first step. I enjoy reading your blog and hope my input will help your writing, thank you!

    Like

    • This is absolutely helpful, thank you so much for your input! I’m actually glad to see someone mention the differences in how a couple raises their child, because that is such a common issue and none of the people I know personally mentioned that at all!

      Like

Leave a Reply

